you are here » st. joe river homepage » wmp » tasks » task 1
Task 1. Steering Committee Formation and Background Information Collection
Go to Background Information Collection
Go to Designated Uses
Steering Committee Members



Christina Bauer
Michigan Department of Environmental Quality, Nonpoint Source Program, program administrator
Chuck Cubbage
Cubbage Environmental Controls, project partner
Jim Coury
Potawatomi RC&D Council
Matthew Doppke
Michiana Watershed Council
Fred Edinger
FOTSJR, Michigan
Bonnie Elifritz
Indiana Department of Environmental Management, Office of Water Quality
Joe Foy
City of Elkhart, Indiana
Juan Ganum
City of Niles, Michigan
Dona Hunter
Indiana Soil and Water Conservation District
Jon Howard
resident/fishing guide, Bristol, IN
Ann Hendrix
Berrien County Drain Commission
Mark Kieser
Deborah Knepp
Ed Kretchman
agricultural producer, St. Joseph, Michigan
Karen Mackowiak
St. Joseph River Basin Commission & Michiana Council of Governments
Dean Ray
Prism Science and Technology
Jeffery Reece
American Electric Power-Hydro Generation
Kregg Smith
Michigan Department of Natural Resources, Fisheries Division
Don Sporeleder
FOTSJR, Indiana
David Sturgis
agricultural producer, Sturgis, Michigan
Jennifer Tice
St. Joseph County Conservation Club
Sarah VanDelfzijl
Rocky River Watershed Management Planning Project
Blaine VanSickle
Calhoun County Drain Commissioner

Steering Committee Meeting Summaries:

Three Subcommittees have also been formed for this project:

Background Information Collection

A bibliography of watershed specific information has been compiled and is periodically updated.
Online resources specific to the St. Joseph River Watershed are available through the Links Page.

Certain attributes of the watershed are mapped on an interactive GIS Applet. This page will take some time to download on a slow modem. It will open in a new browser window

Watershed Designated Uses

The Steering Committee identified Watershed Concerns and the designated uses that those concerns have the potential to impair. The Watershed has been divided into five River Valley Segments for the development of the designated use tables. For more information, see this website's Designated Uses Page.